Last sunday myself and some friends headed off to some Hunter Trial at Athlone Equestrian Centre. The weather was beautiful, but it wouldn’t have mattered too much even if it wasn’t as they have a fab all weather sand track, so conditions are great all year round.
I only took Stuart as I was traveling with friends & my OH wasn’t going to be there, so thought 2 might have been too much for me to deal with myself. I had planned on doing the novice singles with Stuart, but one of the fences was a log into water & as he has problems with water at the best of times I thought that might be asking too much for him & decided to do the pre-novice instead. Fences were a little bit lower than we’d normally jump, but it was a lovely track & I figured it was better to get around that rather than scare him at the water in the novice.
We still had a bit of trouble at the water, but I just waited for the next horse to come along & followed them through, although they were going a bit too slow for us so we had to pass them again once we got into the water!
Out from that he had a great round & seems to really love cross country, who knows if I can get to grips with Dressage we might even give eventing a go!

All smiles before we start!

And we’re off!

And over the Trakehner.

Heading towards the water

Hesitating at the water

Getting a lead!

Through the water

And out of the water

And over a little wall

And heading for home!

About Tullavilla

A long time horse owner returning to riding after an 8 year break. Currently back competing at Riding Club level in Show Jumping & occasionally Dressage.

Leave a Reply

