I’ve been meaning to do this for a while after seeing a few others doing the same in result of a post by Laura – The Horse Talker.
Of course I couldn’t be normal & just have 1 grooming kit, so here’s what’s in all of mine!
First up is my everyday grooming kit, this one lives in the Tack Room & is what I use from day to day.

My Everyday Grooming Kit

It contains:
1 – Two Body Brushes
2 – Two Zoom Grooms (great for getting off loose hairs & mud on winter coats)
3 – Small brush I use to scrub soles of feet
4 – Two sponges, 1 for face & 1 for nether regions
5 – Mane & Tail Spray (sometimes this is replaced by baby oil)
6 – Two Hoof Oil brushes
7 – Hoof Oil
8 – Sweat Scraper
9 – Plaitting Bands
10 – Dandy Brush
11 – Botanica Cream (brilliant for cuts & scrapes etc)
12 – Plastic Curry Comb
13 – Pulling Comb
15 – Tail Brush
16 – Rubber Curry Comb
17 – Old Dandy Brush for scrubbing hooves
18 – The box it all goes into.
Just realised that the hoof pick has gone walkabout, but there’s normally one in there too!

Then I have my travel kit which lives in the back of the jeep, so I always have a few bits & bobs to hand when we’re out & about.

Travel Grooming Kit

This one has
1 – Old Bovaclox Box for putting everything in, this is really handy for the jeep as it has a lid to stop everything falling out.
2 – Three sponges (face, back end & pink one for scrubbing off any small stains)
3 – Plaitting Bands
4 – Wound Spray (I like Multi-Derm)
5 – Hoof Oil Brush
6 – Spare Tail Bandage
7 – Sweat Scraper
8 – Hoof Pick
9 – Face Brush
10 – Rubber Curry Comb
11 – Two Body Brushes
12 – Baby Wipes (useful for last minute tidy ups)
13 – Pulling Comb
14 – Dandy Brush

Then I have my ‘good’ grooming kit, which only comes out for special occassions like if we’re staying away overnight at an event.

My ‘Good’ Grooming Kit

This one has:
1 – Fancy Schmancy Blue Grooming Bag with lots of pockets to hold all my Blue Brushes
2 – Mane Comb
3 – Dandy Brush
4 – Grooming Glove (this has a leather pad on the other side)
5 – Sweat Scraper
6 – Plaitting Bands
7 – Sponge
8 – Rubber Cury Comb
9 – Polos
10 – Body Brush
11 – Hoof Oil Brush
12 – Face Brush
13 – Two Hoof Picks
14 – Tail Brush
15 – Flick Brush
16 – Hoof Oil
17 – Sweat Scraper wth comb on the back
18 – Latex Gloves

And then I have my plaitting kit, for keeping my plaitting bits & bobs together.

Plaitting Kit

In this I have:
1 – The pouch for holding everything, which clips onto my belt
2 – Solo Comb
3 – Pulling Comb
4 – Plaitting Bands
5 – Scissors
6 – Plaitting Comb
So thats all my grooming bits & pieces please feel free to let us have a look into your grooming kit too.

About Tullavilla

A long time horse owner returning to riding after an 8 year break. Currently back competing at Riding Club level in Show Jumping & occasionally Dressage.

Leave a Reply

