I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned Gordon before, he’s a 3 year old, 15hh, connemara x Appaloosa gelding. Earlier in the summer I spent some time doing some basic ground work with him & starting to break him in. I had long reined him, had a saddle on him and done the basics, but hadn’t had the time to actually back him. So with winter fast approaching and me still not having enough time to back him myself, last week I sent him down to the breaking yard my friend works at to get them to sit on him for me. To be honest I wasn’t expecting much problems as he’s a fairly calm, sensible little chap and I was right. I sent him down on saturday, they gave him a day or two to settle in & get used to them and on tuesday they backed him, he didn’t bat an eyelid apparently so after 5 days of riding I brought him home again today.
My OH sat up on him when we got him home just to see how he went & he was as good as gold, never put a foot wrong.

Walking camly on a loose rein

Trotting nicely

Changing the rein

And back to walk to finish

So needless to say I’m very pleased with him.

About Tullavilla

A long time horse owner returning to riding after an 8 year break. Currently back competing at Riding Club level in Show Jumping & occasionally Dressage.

One response »

  1. I love him! (Gordon, I mean, not your OH) He has such a sweet honest face! Best of luck with him 🙂

Leave a Reply

