Last weekend a local Equestrian Centre was having a Dressage Show, so as it was nearby and there were no other shows on that day I decided to bring Stuart for a change of scene. I’ve done a few Dressage tests at Riding Club shows because I’ve been jumping there anyway, but this was the first time I’d actually gone to a pure Dressage show. It was also Stu’s 3rd ever time doing a Dressage test & the 1st time he jumped out of the arena, so I was going for a day out more than anything else.

Poor Stu was scrubbed from head to toe on the Friday, as I was working on Saturday & didn’t want to get up at crazy o’clock on Sunday morning to do it. So a quick tidy up on Sunday morning was all that was needed before plaiting him up & getting ready to go.

We got there in good time and I had a wander about before getting Stuart tacked up & into the warm up. We had a little bit of messing in the warm up when a rock outside the arena tried to eat him alive, but apart from that he was pretty well behaved.

I think this was the only competition I have ever been at that ran pretty much bang on time, I was well impressed. Went in to do my test & we started out brilliantly with a lovely straight line between A & C for which we got an 8! He was a little distracted for part of the test, I think he was looking around to see where the jumps were, but he went nicely and I was quite pleased with our performance until I forgot where I was going & got a bit lost in the middle! I realised my mistake & managed to recover and finish the test although not as fluently as the start.

Anyway even with our wobble in the middle we finished up with 61% so I was delighted, it was far better than I’d expected to do. So our next goal is to try eventing, if we practise our Dressage a bit more, we might manage to do ok at eventing.

My friends from Sikulubani Rhodesian Ridgebacks happened to also be attending the show  to watch their beautiful Schwarzwälder Kaltblut mare Elster take part in her first Dressage Show and they took a few pictures of myself & Stuart looking fairly respectable for once in our lives!

524526_10151560852999243_1673590429_n       60606_10151560852829243_1356336882_n        150707_10151602756009993_254670870_n

About Tullavilla

A long time horse owner returning to riding after an 8 year break. Currently back competing at Riding Club level in Show Jumping & occasionally Dressage.

3 responses »

  1. finlaym1 says:

    Well done! Stuart is looking great 🙂

Leave a Reply

