Way back in 2000 I got a pair of Mountan Horse High Rider riding boots. I have to say they were the most comfortable pair of long boots I have ever worn & I practically lived in them for the next 3 years, until I broke my ankle in 3 places in August 2003 (Fibula in 2 places & Talus) and I’m pretty sure it was the support from the boot that kept the fragment of Fibula from displacing when I damaged it. Anyway after that I stopped riding for a few years, so the boots were used as a pair of fancy wellys if I needed to go anywhere I might ruin a nice pair of shoes & if my muckers weren’t high enough, Mountain Horse claim they’re water resistant, I’ve found them to be waterproof under normal use, wet fields, puddles etc obviously I haven’t danced in a river with them, but I have walked through a water jump & my toes stayed dry!
Anyway I started back riding properly again in September 2011, shortly before I started this blog and since that my boots have been in constant use again. I live in them when I’m at home & out in the yard and use them for all my everyday riding, plus XC & smaller SJ competitions. They’ve been getting gradually scruffier the last few months, but they finally gave up the ghost on Wednesday so I had to lay them to rest after 13 years of abuse.
oldboots
So of course that meant I had to replace them, and there was absolutely no question of what the new boots were going to be, I was online ordering a brand new pair of Mountain Horse High Rider II’s right away! So they arrived yesterday & have barely left my feet since, I love them, all shiny & new & lovely and of course they smell of new leather which I love.
newboots
They have a lot to live up to, but if they can tolerate half the abuse the last pair got they’ll be doing well!

The Old Boots & The New Boots, lets hope the new ones last as well!

The Old Boots & The New Boots, lets hope the new ones last as well!

About Tullavilla

A long time horse owner returning to riding after an 8 year break. Currently back competing at Riding Club level in Show Jumping & occasionally Dressage.

2 responses »

  1. Maria says:

    Hi,

    Love the new boots!

    I was just contacting you about a competition Fidelity is hosting and one of the prizes is £200 to spend on Ariat equestrian products which I thought might be of interest to you.

    Please find more information here: https://www.fidelity.co.uk/static/blenheim/

    As a Haynet blogger, the competition is also being promoted on the Haynet home page but I think this might also be of interest to your readers.

    Please feel free to email me!

    Many thanks,
    Maria

  2. Aoife says:

    Wishing you well wear with the new boots, have to say that the Mountain Horse Firenze tallboots caught my eye, although I haven’t ridden in tall boots since i changed to gaiters and paddock boots vs aigle rubber boots, :p

Leave a Reply

