Day 6 – What’s in your grooming bucket?

I done a very similar post to this back in September last year, which can be seen here.

As I mentioned back then I actually have 3 grooming kits & a plaiting kit, nothing like having too much stuff lol!

First up is my everyday grooming kit, this one lives in the Tack Room & is what I use from day to day

groom1

It contains:

  • Two Body Brushes
  • Two Zoom Grooms (great for getting off loose hairs & mud on winter coats)
  • Small brush I use to scrub soles of feet
  • Two sponges, 1 for face & 1 for nether regions
  • Mane & Tail Spray (sometimes this is replaced by baby oil)
  • Two Hoof Oil brushes
  • Hoof Oil
  • Sweat Scraper
  • Plaiting Bands
  • Dandy Brush
  • Botanica Cream (brilliant for cuts & scrapes etc)
  • Plastic Curry Comb
  • Pulling Comb
  • Tail Brush
  • Rubber Curry Comb
  • Old Dandy Brush for scrubbing hooves
  •  Hoof Pick

Then I have my travel kit which lives in the back of the jeep, so I always have a few bits & bobs to hand when we’re out & about.

groom2

This one lives in an old Bovaclox Box which is really handy for the jeep as it has a lid to stop everything falling out. It has:

  • Three sponges (face, back end & pink one for scrubbing off any small stains)
  • Plaiting Bands
  • Wound Spray (I like Multi-Derm)
  • Hoof Oil Brush
  • Spare Tail Bandage
  • Sweat Scraper
  • Hoof Pick
  • Face Brush
  • Rubber Curry Comb
  • Two Body Brushes
  • Baby Wipes (useful for last minute tidy ups)
  • Pulling Comb
  • Dandy Brush

Then I have my ‘good’ grooming kit in my Fancy Schmancy Blue Grooming Bag with lots of pockets to hold all my Blue Brushes, which only comes out for special occasions like if we’re staying away overnight at an event.

5DD35F32-699A-4F99-B4C6-281A442D5BE8-10544-00001A85B8EB2BD7

This one has:

  •  Mane Comb
  • Dandy Brush
  • Grooming Glove (this has a leather pad on the other side)
  • Sweat Scraper
  • Plaiting Bands
  • Sponge
  • Rubber Curry Comb
  • Polos
  • Body Brush
  • Hoof Oil Brush
  • Face Brush
  • Two Hoof Picks
  • Tail Brush
  • Flick Brush
  • Hoof Oil
  • Sweat Scraper with comb on the back
  • Latex Gloves

And then I have my plaiting kit, for keeping my plaiting bits & bobs together & in this I have:

plait

  • The pouch for holding everything, which clips onto my belt
  • Solo Comb
  • Pulling Comb
  • Plaiting Bands
  • Scissors
  • Plaiting Comb
About Tullavilla

A long time horse owner returning to riding after an 8 year break. Currently back competing at Riding Club level in Show Jumping & occasionally Dressage.

Leave a Reply

