Day 7 – Biggest Riding Pet Peeve

Hmmmm….thats a tough one….

Maybe stupid people using spurs, that annoys me quite a bit! I hate it when I see people with no lower leg control using spurs or people using spurs to make up for their bad riding. Spurs in my opinion are supposed to add precision to your leg aids, not to compensate for your inability to give a proper leg aid. It drives me mad when I see people wearing spurs & their lower leg swinging about in all directions. I don’t wear spurs because I have a terrible habit of turning my toes out when I’m jumping so I’d inadvertently end up digging the poor horse in the ribs, but the amount of people I see at shows who are trotting around with their lower leg swinging away banging the horse in the side every stride is just unreal. And then you have the ones who wear spurs to make their horses go faster so actually kick the horse while wearing them, drives me up the wall. So yes think that may be one of my riding pet peeves.

And two pictures I found on the internet to illustrate!

How spurs should be worn!

How spurs should be worn!

And how not to use spurs!

And how not to use spurs!

About Tullavilla

A long time horse owner returning to riding after an 8 year break. Currently back competing at Riding Club level in Show Jumping & occasionally Dressage.

2 responses »

  1. Is that second picture the one of Prince Harry that caused uproar?

Leave a Reply

