Day 15 – All the tack and riding clothes you have (brand, colour, other details)

Oh god, where do I start? I have no idea of all the crap I possess…

I have loads of stuff….several (20+) bridles, no idea of makes of them all, various colours & styles although apart from a bosal bridle I’m pretty sure the rest all have either cavasson or flash nosebands, nothing overly complicated here. I have a good collection of bits including kimblewicks, pelhams & various types of snaffle although I tend to ride mainly in either eggbutt or full cheek snaffles. My most expensive bit is Tizzys show bit a Neue Schule Tranz Angled Lozenge Eggbutt
Also have an extensive collection of fly veils/ear bonnets in various colours.

Tizzy in her competition bridle & modelling a fly veil

Tizzy in her competition bridle & modelling a fly veil

Then I have an assortment of martingales & breastplates, girths, saddle cloths & numnahs, boots, bandages & such like. Far too many to go into in detail.

I have 5 saddles that I use fairly regularly & a few others that are only used in emergencies. Tizzys jumping saddle is my favourite, its a lovely comfortable saddle and I find it very secure.

Tizzy's Saddle

Tizzy’s Saddle

Tizzy also has a Lovatt & Ricketts dressage saddle for the odd time we attempt dressage.
Stuart has a Lovatt & Rickett GP saddle that we use for everything and again its lovely & comfortable, but is quite old & slightly worse for wear at this stage, so I shall be upgrading soon.

Stu's saddle

Stu’s saddle


Then I have a medium GP saddle thats used on any of the other horses it fits, it’s been used on Gordon at the moment and I have a Kincade black synthetic GP saddle with an adjustable gullet that’s currently being used on the TB.

F6B4C57B-9034-46A2-82DF-18B02A125DE8-4614-00000474D8533908_zps209cc6cc

My Tack Locker with some of the crap I use most.

I have enough rugs to open my own rug shop, all shapes, makes, types & sizes. Some of them you can see below modelled by various horses.

On to my own gear & again I have loads of crap have various helmets, 3 that I wear fairly regularly – 2 Harry Hall Legends one black & one navy & a Charles & Owen skull cap plus a collection of silks for the skull cap!


Have lots of shirts, I think 7 riding jackets (2 x tweed, 2 x black, 2 x navy & my latest addition a pretty navy & red one) and more jodhpurs/breeches than I care to think about in various colours. Have 2 pairs of long leather boots, my Mountain Horse High Riders for everyday wear & cross country and a pair of Tredstep Donatellos for shows. Then I have 3 pairs of jodhpur boots, 2 cheap pairs for around the yard & a nice pair of Mountain Horse Carbon Boa Paddock boots for good use. Have a pair of leather gaiters & a couple of pairs of half chaps. And loads of other crap of all sorts!

About Tullavilla

A long time horse owner returning to riding after an 8 year break. Currently back competing at Riding Club level in Show Jumping & occasionally Dressage.

2 responses »

  1. finlaym1 says:

    Haha! You could open a tack shop! Great photos!

Leave a Reply

