Day 23 – Your worst riding habits

I have two awful habits, which drive me mad when I look back at photos or videos of myself competing. The first is that I lean forward far too much when I’m riding, especially when I’m jumping a round of fences, I’m not too bad on the flat as I’ve been actively trying to remind myself to sit up straighter, but once I go in to jump a round of fences I’m concentrating on the fences & the position goes out the window. Doesn’t seem to affect my horses though which is something I guess. First picture below is me in the RDS during the summer as you can see I’m not quite as bad as I was back when the 2nd photo was taken in Summer 2012, but I still need to straighten up a lot!
1170746_438231002959326_934981599_n

533471_234713353311093_100003172908203_430183_8823576_n

My other really annoying habit is sticking out my toes when I jump, it drives me insane & looks awful but I keep doing it, and is something I really have to work on!

About Tullavilla

A long time horse owner returning to riding after an 8 year break. Currently back competing at Riding Club level in Show Jumping & occasionally Dressage.

Leave a Reply

