So 2013 has come to an end, so I’m going to take a brief look back over my year.
January was a pretty quiet month, apart from doing a bit of riding at home I didn’t do any competing and the highlight of the month was the Riding Club Regional Dinner Dance which is always a lot of fun & I came joint 2nd in the awards for ‘Leading Show-jumper’ so was delighted!


February seen a return to competition with myself & Stuart taking part in a Derby League, for the experience rather than actually expecting to win anything and he put in some lovely clear rounds over the course of the league so I was pleased with him.

February also seen us go on a woodland hack with some friends, which was very enjoyable if a tad chilly.

March again was rather quiet, the Derby League finished up & not a lot else was going on, but April was a bit busier. Myself & Stu went to our first actual Dressage show where we got a score of 61%

We also had a show-jumping show on a very wet Sunday in April, the rain was unreal although it had stopped before we went in to jump, but the arena had huge puddles all over it that Stuart hated. We managed to finish a respectable 5th though.
Collecting our prize on a very wet day!

Collecting our prize on a very wet day!


In May things started to get a bit busier & Tizzy came back in & returned to competition. Her first competition was the Masters qualifiers on May 5th, she wasn’t near fit but managed to jump a lovely double clear round & finished 5th qualifying for the Masters Final in September. Stu knocked a pole in the jump-off so wasn’t placed.

Then we had a show-jumping league, I missed the 1st leg of it but had the 2 horses at the 2nd leg, it was another wet & miserable day but they both jumped double clear rounds & Tizzy finished 2nd while Stu was a bit slower against the clock & didn’t make the ribbons.

We also jumped at the 3rd leg of the league but I had poles down with both of them so was out of the prizes. However I also jumped in the pairs class with Tizzy and my friend D & her horse Maisie and we won that.
Then on May 26th we had the Western Region Team Qualifiers for the RDS, I was jumping on Team 2 for our club with Tizzy and after a nail biting jump-off our team won & qualified for the RDS.

June was another busy month with the Beach Show on the bank holiday weekend, I just took Tizzy to that & we won our SJ class and I also managed to loose a button out of my jacket!

Then on the 8th & 9th of June was the biggest event of the year – The Riding Club Festival, a 2 day extravaganza of Jumping, Dressage & Showing. Took the 2 with me to this, so had a pretty hectic weekend, but loved every minute of it! Competed in Showing, Prix Caprilli & Show-Jumping. Came 7th with Tizzy in the Power & Speed Show-jumping and 2nd in the Intermediate Team Show-jumping competition.

On June 15th there was a Mini-Show & Rideout in the next village, I took Stuart & my OH took Gordon for the experience. I won best turned out horse with Stuart & we then went on a very enjoyable ride followed by refreshments afterwards.

The following day was the Final of the Show Jumping Mini-League, I just took Tizzy to this & we came 3rd in the Intermediate Class, which seen us finish 2nd in the league and we also came 3rd in the pairs jumping class where we paired up with a nice man we hadn’t met before.

Then on 23rd of June I took both of them to a Dressage Show where Stu came 3rd with 66% & Tizzy was 4th with 64%. After that I let Stuart out on his holidays for the rest of the year.
And to finish off the month I took Tizzy to a Derby show in Letterkenny where she jumped the only clear round of the class to win.

July was another pretty quiet month with just a fun mini, midi, maxi show in the Riding Club on July 23rd which I took Tizzy to.

Then August seen us head to the RDS for the AIRC Team Show Jumping Championships, Tizzy jumped a lovely double clear round but unfortunately the rest of our team had faults, but we still finished a very respectable 4th.

I also went for a quiet hack with my sister, who hasn’t ridden in a while during August as she wanted to get back in the saddle.

And then on August 25th I went to a X-Jump competition with my husband, this was his first competition in about 20 years and we jumped in the pairs class and came 2nd. I also came 2nd in the Individual class with Tizzy.

On September 8th I went to some non competitive Hunter Trials with my husband & we had a pop around the pairs class together and then I jumped in the individual with Tizzy, she jumped a lovely clear, but it was just for schooling & no prizes were on offer.
September 15th seen the Masters Series Show Jumping Final take place, I had qualified with Tizzy earlier in the year so headed off to Mullingar in torrential rain to compete. The weather was awful, cold, wet & windy but we battled on & although just outside the ribbons in all classes we secured enough points to finish 6th overall.

Little did I know, but this was to be the end of my horsey pursuits for the year as on September 19th I pulled my sacroiliac ligament which then caused 2 bulging discs (L1 & L2) in my back and I’ve been out of action since, but plan to return to the saddle in the new year.
In December we had the annual Riding Club Mini, Midi, Maxi Fancy Dress Show I wasn’t competing, but dressed up anyway for the craic & my poor husband dressed up as ‘Christmas Knight’ and won best costume.

About Tullavilla

A long time horse owner returning to riding after an 8 year break. Currently back competing at Riding Club level in Show Jumping & occasionally Dressage.

10 responses »

  1. Pairs classes?? I so have to recruit my husband. He would love that!

  2. So many fantastic photo memories πŸ™‚ Wishing you quick recovery and happy return in the saddle in 2014! πŸ™‚

  3. magreenlee says:

    Loads of great photos! What a year you had, I hope your back sorts itself out and you have another good year in 2014

  4. Looks like you had a busy busy year, hopefully your back will get better soon so that you can have another busy year in 2014!

  5. finlaym1 says:

    What a great year!! Super post! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

