On Sunday I took Elvis to his first show, which happened to be a Dressage show. It was his first time to do Dressage so we entered in the Intro class. My main aim was to keep him inside the arena as I find him quite awkward to turn compared to Tizzy & Stuart who are much smaller & more compact.
Anyway he went quite well & we achieved our aim of staying inside the confines of the arena, I remembered the test and managed to walk & trot in the correct places, so was quite pleased with our performance. When we came out a few people commented about his lovely paces & how our test flowed nicely. I have to admit it didn’t feel like it was flowing to me, it felt more like trying to turn a bus in a very enclosed space, but I just smiled & thanked them for their comments figured I may as well pretend that I knew what I was at!
Watched a few of the tests that were after mine & 2 in particular looked very nice. Was hoping to score maybe 58 – 60% as I thought we’d been pretty accurate throughout. So when the results were announced & we’d won the class with 67.39% I was in total shock, the woman giving out the results says ‘you seem surprised’ I must have looked totally gob-smacked! To say I was thrilled was an understatement. The judges comments were ‘ Lovely active horse, very obedient throughout but needs to be rounder & on the bit more.’ Given that he’s had no flatwork training whatsoever & he’s not even remotely round I was happy enough with that, if roundness & getting on the bit is all we need to work on he has definite potential, I think I can see myself turning into a Dressage Diva from now on!

About Tullavilla

A long time horse owner returning to riding after an 8 year break. Currently back competing at Riding Club level in Show Jumping & occasionally Dressage.

One response »

  1. What a debut for you guys!
    Great start to your competitive career – he sounds like a sweetheart & great to hear that he has lovely moves…he will take some getting used to after your pocket rockets in Tizz & Stu.
    Delighted for ye & cannot wait to read more about your adventures with all the TullaVilla gang!

Leave a Reply

